Society of District Council Treasurers

Representing the interests of district council finance on a national level

The Society of District Council TreasurersThe Society of District Council Treasurers was formed in 1974 and represents the 164 district council finance functions in England. On receipt of the membership fee, each council's section 151 officer is eligible to become a member of the society.

The executive committee comprises up to 21 of the district council chief finance officers (S151), who take responsibility for advising and leading on specific areas relevant to the finance profession. All CFO members of the society are eligible to apply to become members of the executive.

Our vision

The executive committee advisors on various different areas, represent the interests of district council finance. A list of the officers and their areas of responsibility can be found in the officers' area.

In addition to this representation, membership involves publication of the minutes of executive committee meetings, as well as attendance at two meetings for the general membership per annum: one at CIPFA conference and another which coincides with important announcements/initiatives for the sector.

The society is also represented on the Association of Local Authority Treasurers, which collectively represents the professional interests of treasurers in all types of local government.

How to join

Download and complete an expression of interest form (DOC, 20KB) and return to


  • President: Adrian Rowbotham
  • Vice President: Jon Illingworth
  • Second Vice President: Emma Foy
  • Treasurer: Clare Fletcher
  • Secretary: Angela George